Store Sponsored Book Clubs

 

 

Book Club meets the first Tuesday of the month, February 5th at 6:30pm

Geek Book Club meets the second Tuesday of the month, January 8th at 7:00pm 

Young Adult Book Club meets the third Monday of the month, January 21st at 7:00pm

Foodie Book Club meets the last Tuesday of the month, January 29th at 7:00pm

 

 

Book Club

The Book Club meets the first Tuesday of the month. Join us this month, February 5th at 6:30pm

February Selection:

Improvement by Joan Silber

One of our most gifted writers of fiction returns with a bold and piercing novel about a young single mother living in New York, her eccentric aunt, and the decisions they make that have unexpected implications for the world around them.

Reyna knows her relationship with Boyd isn't perfect, yet as she visits him throughout his three-month stint at Rikers Island, their bond grows tighter. Kiki, now settled in the East Village after a journey that took her to Turkey and around the world, admires her niece's spirit but worries that she always picks the wrong man. Little does she know that the otherwise honorable Boyd is pulling Reyna into a cigarette smuggling scheme, across state lines, where he could risk violating probation. When Reyna ultimately decides to remove herself for the sake of her four-year-old child, her small act of resistance sets into motion a tapestry of events that affect the lives of loved ones and strangers around them.

A novel that examines conviction, connection, and the possibility of generosity in the face of loss, Improvement is as intricately woven together as Kiki's beloved Turkish rugs, as colorful as the tattoos decorating Reyna's body, with narrative twists and turns as surprising and unexpected as the lives all around us. The Boston Globe says of Joan Silber: "No other writer can make a few small decisions ripple across the globe, and across time, with more subtlety and power." Improvement is Silber's most shining achievement yet.

 

 

Book Club members receive 20% off their purchase. 

 

 

Geek Book Club

The Geek Book Club meets the second Tuesday of the month at the back of the store. Join us this month, December 11th at 7PM.

January Selection:

6255949Free Chocolate by Amber Royer

In the far future, chocolate is Earth's only unique commodity one that everyone else in the galaxy is willing to kill to get their hands, paws and tentacles on 

Latina culinary arts student, Bo Benitez, becomes a fugitive when she's caught stealing a cacao pod from one of the heavily-defended plantations that keep chocolate, Earth's sole valuable export, safe from a hungry galaxy.

Forces array against her including her alien boyfriend and a reptilian cop. But when she escapes onto an unmarked starship things go from bad to worse: it belongs to the race famed throughout the galaxy for eating stowaways! Surrounded by dangerous yet hunky aliens, Bo starts to uncover clues that the threat to Earth may be bigger than she first thought.


Geek Book Club members receive 20% off their purchase. 

 

 

Young Adult Book Club

The Young Adult Book Club meets the third Monday of every month. Join us this month on Monday, January 21st at 7PM.

January Selection:

The Light Between Worlds by Laura E. Weymouth

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister's despair and the painful truths they've been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

 

Young Adult Book Club members receive 20% off their purchase. 

 

 

Foodie Book Club

Foodie Book Club meets on the last Tuesday of the month. Join us on Tuesday, January 29th at 7:00pm

January Selection:

The Best American Food Writing 2018 by Ruth Reichl

"Food writing is stepping out," legendary food writer Ruth Reichl declares at the start of this, the inaugural edition of Best American Food Writing. "It's about time...Food is, in a very real sense, redesigning the world." Indeed, the twenty-eight pieces in this volume touch on every pillar of society: from the sense memories that connect a family through food, to the scientific tinkering that gives us new snacks to share, to the intersections of culinary culture with some of our most significant political issues. At times a celebration, at times a critique, at times a wondrous reverie, the Best American Food Writing 2018 is brimming with delights both circumspect and sensuous. Dig in!

 

 

Foodie Book Club members receive 20% off their purchase.