Staff Picks

Sally's Pick:

The daughter of survivalists, Educated is an account of the struggle for self-invention. It is a tale of fierce family loyalty, and of the grief that comes from severing one's closest ties. With the acute insight that distinguishes all great writers, Westover has crafted a universal coming-of-age story that gets to the heart of what an education is and what it offers: the perspective to see one's life through new eyes, and the will to change it.

For those who enjoyed The Glass Castle, this coming of age memoir is a perfect choice. It's a memoir that reads like a novel, with twists and turns and heart-breaking revelations.

 

 

 

Jamie's Pick:

From the beloved author of Comeback Love and Wherever There Is Light, comes a novel about the life-changing journey of a young man who travels from New Jersey to Khrushchev's Russia and the beaches of Southern France as he finds love and discovers the long-hidden secrets about his heritage


For fans of historical fiction about the Holocaust and the Cold War, this is an excellent novel of a Jewish Russian family and their secrets.

 

 

 

 

Sherri's Pick:

A young girl tries her hardest to respond to devastating news as compassionately and empathetically as possible in this charming debut picture book. 

A beautiful story that teaches about community, resilience, and optimism. This book is not only timely but timeless.

 

 

 

 

 

Shauna's Pick:

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. 
Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

This gorgeous, powerful debut is an incredible journey from the U.S. to Taiwan. With gorgeous prose, Buddhist influences, and perfectly captured grief, this debut shines on any reader's shelf.

 

 

 

Nikki's Pick:

This book is an excellent look at not only the various "masks" women of the 50's were required to wear in order to survive daily life, but also about the strength of true love. With characters of color and LGBTQ+ representation, this novel is beyond deserving of its overwhelming praise.

 

 

 

 

 

Iscah's Pick:

A Hitchcockian tale of obsession from the point of view of a University student bored with life, who happens upon a gun found on a riverbank. Jarring and suspenseful. Perfect for fans of Hitchcock and Japanese crime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gabrielle's Pick:

If you are a Gilmore Girls fan this book is a must! Gives insight into filming the Netflix series. Graham is funny in a way I cannot draw the line between her and Loreli.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alex's Pick:

I love the idea that technology is assemblages of previous tech rather than spontaneous novelties. This premise can be applied to nearly anything including original through. Superbly insightful.