Dragging Mason County (Kobo eBook)

Dragging Mason County By Curtis Campbell Cover Image
$10.99
Available Now

Description


"A timely tale of friendship, self-acceptance, and the importance of proper contouring."****—Kevin Christopher Snipes, author of Milo and Marcos at the End of the World

A laugh-out-loud YA debut that examines the realities of small-town queer life and celebrates the transformative power of drag—perfect for fans of RuPaul’s Drag Race and Pumpkin.

Peter Thompkin needs a public image overhaul. After a tense confrontation with one of the few other queer kids in his small-town high school, rumors about him are becoming more elaborate by the day. Meanwhile, his best friend Alan (aka teen drag queen Aggie Culture) is throwing Mason County’s debut Drag Extravaganza. Although Peter is a self-described “dragnostic,” he decides to help produce the show, hoping to prove that he isn’t a self-hating gay. In the process, he finds himself facing down angry guard dogs, angrier bigots, and a very high-strung church lady. As backlash grows, Peter begins to wonder whether he's setting fire to his already damaged reputation and if his friendship with Alan will survive past curtain call.

At turns touching, sharply funny, and a little absurd, Dragging Mason County explores the pains and pleasures of queer community through one teen’s journey to self-acceptance.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781773217895
Publisher: Annick Press
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Language: