Hearts of Fire and Snow (Hardcover)

Hearts of Fire and Snow By David Bowles, Guadalupe García McCall Cover Image
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Award-winning authors David Bowles and Guadalupe García McCall reimagine a beloved Aztec tale of star-crossed lovers with one last chance to reunite.

Blanca Montes wants to make a difference in the world, to do more than her wealthy godfather and spoiled boyfriend think her capable of. So when Greg Chan shows up as a new student at her Nevada school, she is more than intrigued by this handsome, brilliant stranger.

But Greg and Blanca are drawn to each other by something stronger--their fates entwined centuries ago. In his first life, Greg was Captain Popoca, and Blanca is the reincarnation of Princess Iztac, who took her own life after believing her beloved Popoca was sent to his death in battle. Greg has spent a thousand years searching for his lost love, and now the fates have given them one more chance to reunite. Will their hearts finally beat as one?

This swoony contemporary fantasy is perfect for fans of These Violent Delights and This Poison Heart.

About the Author


David Bowles is an award-winning Mexican American author and translator from Texas. His books include The Smoking Mirror; Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky; They Call Me Güero; They Call Her Fregona; The Prince & the Coyote; and Secret of the Moon Conch. He has been published in the New York Times, School Library Journal, Strange Horizons, English Journal, Rattle, Translation Review, and the Journal of Children's Literature. In 2017, he was inducted into the Texas Institute of Letters, and in 2020, he co-founded #DignidadLiteraria, a social justice movement advocating for greater Latinx representation in publishing.
www.davidbowles.us

Guadalupe García McCall is the award-winning author of Under the Mesquite, Summer of the Mariposas, Shame the Stars, All the Stars Denied, Echoes of Grace, and Secret of the Moon Conch. She has received a Pura Belpré Author Award, a Westchester Young Adult Fiction Award, and the Tomás Rivera Mexican-American Children's Book Award, and was a finalist for the William C. Morris Award and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, among many other accolades. She advocates for literacy and diverse books. She lives with her husband in Texas.
ggmccall.com

Praise For…


“An intriguing tale of love and repentance.” —Kirkus Reviews

“An excellent romantic fantasy woven with timeless themes. The authors juxtapose historical aspects of Aztec civilization with today's current events, calling attention to strains that migrants experience in modern-day detention centers. Young adults will thoroughly enjoy this riveting, long-distance love story.” —Booklist, starred review, on SECRET OF THE MOON CONCH

“By turns heartfelt and heart-pounding, this story will grip readers to the final pages.” —The Horn Book, on SECRET OF THE MOON CONCH

“The alternating perspectives brim with vitality, pulling the reader into each moment while intertwining ever more closely the shared threads of indigeneity, colonial oppression, and hope for a more peaceful future.” —BCCB, on SECRET OF THE MOON CONCH

“A gentle love story and action-packed sequences elevate this sobering read.” —Publishers Weekly, on SECRET OF THE MOON CONCH



Product Details
ISBN: 9781547610044
ISBN-10: 1547610042
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English