Flora and the Flamingo (Hardcover)

Flora and the Flamingo By Molly Idle Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In this magical Caldecott Honor-winning picture book, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend wordlessly explore the trials and joys of friendship through an elaborate synchronized dance.

Every little ballerina dreams of her turn as a dancing diva. Endearing Flora in swimsuit, bathing cap, and flippers admires a pink flamingo . . . and with a twist, a turn, and even a flop, these unlikely friends learn at last how to dance together in perfect harmony.

An innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and the Flamingo is full of humor and heart. This stunning performance (and splashy ending!) will have readers clapping for more!

FOR THE LOVE OF THE DANCE: For children and adults who share a passion for ballet, jazz, tap, Irish Step, or any form of dance, the joyful Flora books offer an engaging, hands-on reading experience that celebrates the magic of movement.

FINE-FEATHERED FRIENDS: Friendships in children's books come in many wonderful forms. The connection made in this gentle story as a girl and a bird dance in tandem is a lovely reminder that friendship is truly the wind beneath our wings.

For more feathery fun with the flamingo girls, pick up more preschool wordless books from award-winning author-illustrator Molly Idle, including Flora and the Penguin, Flora and the Peacocks, Flora and the Chicks, and Flora and the Ostrich.

Perfect for:
  • Parents and caregivers seeking unique picture books with lift-the-flap interaction and beautifully flowing illustrations
  • Gift giving for baby shower, birthday, holiday, dance recital, moving up, or graduation celebrations
  • For fans of Angelina Ballerina, Pinkalicious, Lola Dutch, and Ella Bella Ballerina books

About the Author


Molly Idle began her career as an artist working for DreamWorks Feature Animation, and from there she leapt into the world of children's books. She is the author and illustrator of the Caldecott Honor-winning picture book Flora and the Flamingo, and all of the books about Flora and her fine feathered friends, as well as the dazzling mermaid tale, Pearl. She’s also the creator of the Rex series which includes Tea Rex and Sea Rex, and the illustrator of People Don’t Bite People. She lives in Tempe, Arizona.

Praise For…


"Fanciful and beautiful." - Reading Today

"Flora and the Flamingo is so perfect there really are no words to describe it." - Virgina Beach Public Library

"Like a classical music masterpiece, this book starts as a quiet story and cuminates with great power."--Young Children

http://www.reading.org/general/Publications/blog/BlogSinglePost/reading-today-online/2013/12/11/diverse-and-impressive-picture-books-of-2013#.UrM99uL2JTa

New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing 2013

"An absolute delight."--School Library Journal Extra Helping

"The seamless grace of the flamingo’s dance contrasts humorously with Flora’s faltering steps, but by the end of the story, they swoop, plunge and soar together like old ballet partners." - Kirkus Reviews

"This delightful romp... will appeal to flamingo and ballet fans alike." - School library Journal, starred review

BookPage Best Books of The Tear

School Library Journal Best Books of the Year

"In stunning shades of pink with bright yellow accents, squat little pear-shaped Flora tries to emulate a proud and graceful flamingo. It takes a while for the flamingo to realize that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but when the two reconcile their relationship, a double-page foldout is barely large enough to contain the joy."--Carla Kozak, San Francisco Public Library

"One of my favorite books of 2013" - Colby Sharp, Sharpread

“A perfect amalgamation of wordless storytelling…. as emotional as it is visual” - Elizabeth Bird, A Fuse #8 Production, a School Library Journal Blog

"Irresistible." - San Francisco Chronicle

"Seamless and dynamic visual storytelling" - Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Shows the power of friendship." - Mother-Daughter Book Club

"I was entirely swept away." - Design of the Picture Book

“Cinematic, comedic, and balletic.”-The Horn Book Magazine, starred review

"A great story of friendship and forgiveness." - Erik, age 11, ThisKid ReviewsBooks.com

"The simplicity and elegance of each drawing is awe-inspiring." - Sweet on Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9781452110066
ISBN-10: 1452110069
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: February 5th, 2013
Pages: 44
Language: English
Series: Flora