The Five Impossible Tasks of Eden Smith (Hardcover)

The Five Impossible Tasks of Eden Smith By Tom Llewellyn Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Challenged by a secret society of metalworkers, Eden must do all she can to save the only family she has left in this fantasy adventure.

When Eden Smith moves into the beautiful and bizarre old mansion housing her grandfather, she discovers a strange society of elderly metalworkers whose mastery verges on the magical. Deadly mechanical birds, a cavernous chamber full of dirty dishes, a highly dangerous game of Machinist BINGO–life at the guild is not only strange, it’s also dangerous.

Eden’s grandfather, Vulcan Smith, the most gifted of all the metalsmiths in the mansion, has just been sentenced to live out the rest of his days locked in a tiny basement room for rebelling against the guild. To save him, Eden will have to complete The Five Impossible Tasks, a series of deadly feats that have already killed off many of Eden and Vulcan’s ancestors. With the help of her new friend Nathaniel and a cast of eccentric old silversmiths, blacksmiths, and inventive machinists, Eden sets out to do the impossible before her newfound grandfather is lost to her forever.

In The Five Impossible Tasks of Eden Smith, Tom Llewellyn has crafted a wholly original world of wild contraptions, roguish characters, and perilous feats perfect for fans of Karuna Riazi, Laura Ruby, and Lemony Snicket.

About the Author


Tom Llewellyn is a writer, marketer, father, and letterpress poster artist. He is the author of The Bottle Imp of Bright House, which Kirkus Reviews called “exciting and irresistible.” He lives in Tacoma, Washington.

Praise For…


"A truly memorable setting for a terrific tale."—Booklist

"Eden is a resourceful, brave, sympathetic character in an intricately crafted and original setting." Kirkus Reviews

"Eden has been looking for something that feels like home ever since her parents died years ago... The sprawling mansion where her grandpa lives, however, is not what she expected.... It is a dangerous and wonderful place that Eden realizes she has always longed for, and readers will likely agree."The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780823453122
ISBN-10: 082345312X
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English