Us in Ruins (Hardcover)

Us in Ruins By Rachel Moore Cover Image
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Margot is on the quest to uncover and reassemble an ancient—and cursed—vase, with the help of a boy who went missing in 1932, because it's the only way to put back together her broken heart in this standa-lone adventure rom-com, perfect for fans of What the River Knows and The Lost City.

The mythical Vase of Venus Aurelia hasn’t been seen since 1932, but Margot Rhodes is determined to change that.

Drawn by the vase’s supposed magical properties, Margot embarks on her school’s archaeological trip to Pompeii. Sure, it’s her first time holding a shovel, but she’s got something no one else does: lost teenage explorer Van Keane’s journal.

Poring over the poetic entries that serve as a map to the vase’s missing shards, Margot finds herself falling in love with the boy who wrote it a century ago. She’s shocked when her search leads her to a statue that looks exactly like Van, and then the statue comes to life.

Catapulted into the present, Van is nothing like the wordsmith Margot imagined. He’s all sharp edges, intent on retrieving the relic for all the wrong reasons. But it takes two to survive Venus’s death-defying challenges, and, together, Margot and Van must excavate the treasure—and their buried pasts—before their story ends in ruins.

With a blend of humor, magic, and love, Rachel Moore crafts another stand-alone adventure rom-com full of double- and triple-crosses, hilarious shenanigans, and frustration-fueled banter, where the best treasure is true love.

About the Author


Rachel Moore is a content marketer and writer living in Nashville, Tennessee. She graduated from the University of Evansville with a degree in creative writing, and she has never met a rom-com she didn’t love. On the rare occasion she isn’t writing happy endings, you can find her collecting dictionaries, drinking entirely too much coffee, and drifting through library stacks.

Praise For…


“Step aside, Tomb Raider! Moore has struck gold with her sophomore novel, Us in Ruins. Ruins is an absolute treasure, blending spellbinding romance and high-stakes adventure into a heartfelt (and occasionally heart-pounding) journey. Readers will have no trouble rooting for Margot Rhodes, a main character who is both refreshingly real and achingly tender. This is a must read for those who thought Indiana Jones could use a little more kissing and a lot more magic.” — Skyla Arndt, author of Together We Rot

"With immersive, elegant prose and thoughtfully crafted characters, Us in Ruins is not only an endlessly fun, action-packed romp through booby-trapped ancient ruins, but a tender portrayal of a young girl's burning desire to be seen and loved for who she is. The romance between soft, deep-feeling Margot and guarded, ambitious Van is enough to make even the stoniest heart flutter. I devoured this riveting, romantic adventure with all the joy and wonder of watching The Mummy (1999) for the very first time." — Ellen O'Clover, author of Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

Praise for THE LIBRARY OF SHADOWS: "Lyrical prose builds a complex plot featuring a sympathetic protagonist. A lively enemies-to-lovers romance offers a sweet counterpoint to Este’s poignant grief over her father’s death . . . A compelling, ghostly tale interweaving romance and mystery with a thread of horror." — Kirkus Reviews

"Debut author Moore entwines fairy tale horrors and heady romance to craft an eerie boarding school mystery . . . the swoony paranormal courtship between Este and Mateo burns brightly in this dark-academia adventure." — Publishers Weekly

"The characters deal with grief and loss in a genuine manner . . . VERDICT Fans of ghost stories and dark academia will embrace this debut novel. Recommended."
School Library Journal

"Poignant, romantic, and at-times laugh-out-loud funny, The Library of Shadows is a haunting paranormal mystery that is sure to keep readers guessing until the very last page." — Kelly Andrew, author of The Whispering Dark and Your Blood, My Bones

"Rachel Moore’s beautifully written debut blends ivy-wreathed academic mystery with delightful romcom wit; this is the perfect romantic read for a spooky, new-moon night." — Lyndall Clipstone, author of the World at the Lake’s Edge Duology and Unholy Terrors



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063284685
ISBN-10: 0063284685
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English